God’s Grace

After a mournful funeral,
my soul was summoned before
God’s throne,
bewildered, abject and all alone,
and uncertain of my sins to be atoned.

Then God unveiled in harsh rhymes
All my guiltless crimes. So Mr. Kan,
You claimed that sin is nothing but ignorance,
reversed that old fellow of Renaissance,

What I revealed unto mortal minds
are desperate thoughts of hearts confined,
and those sacred letters to you,
were hoaxed just for the gentles to coax.

You’re blamed from a Satan’s clan,
And was found rude upon my holy men.
You have had an evil spirit, Kan
so was vexed, weird and wan.

I, Kan as humble as dust
raised and phrased like thus:
‘Almighty! I had never lost faith in you
Let me confess what was true;

You made me born free
but was enchained by heaven’s decree,
I wished to say my heart
but my lips were sealed and soul apart.

You said my laws are unchanged
but thy blessed One made them estranged;
If those were not suited me so
Should not I take them as low?

Those were not thy Holy words, My lord;
Revealed unto those mortal souls,
but some evil in disguise sacked it a whole,
thus my anguish spake in my silly rhymes
and I was ranked with the old Faustus prime.

Ah! thy true love was taken as a crime,
mercifully gracious O my Lord!
Unveil thy Mercy and grace sublime
beyond every space and time’.

XK

Leave a Reply

